Life Lessons from a Fruit Farmer’s Granddaughter – Part 1

Leah and grandfather

While coming up with this second list, my Pappy and MawMaw (Farmer Tad’s parents) were on my mind quite a bit. Growing up I spent every weekend with them on their farm in Adams County, so many of my life lessons also came from them. Pappy was a fruit farmer for his whole life. (He still is – don’t let him tell you he’s retired. That man couldn’t stay out of an orchard if his life depended on it.) He, along with his brothers and father (my great-grandfather), ran a huge fruit farm in Adams County until it was sold a few years ago.

I have many fond memories of sledding, snowmobiling, gardening, walking, and playing in the creek with Pappy. That poor man must have played the role of patient while I played the role of doctor for 5 hours a day, but never once said no (though he did become a comatose patient every 15 minutes or so). Maybe he should get free medical care from me when I’m out of medical school?

That being said, this list, while not only comprised of his lessons, is dedicated to my MawMaw and Pappy. 

  1. There is a trick to eating raspberries. To some of you this may be known, but if you are tired of getting seeds stuck in your teeth fear no longer! The trick is to press the raspberry between your tongue and the roof of your mouth, then swallow – no chewing necessary. You’re welcome.
  2. Pappy didn’t understand why everyone wanted me in a dress so badly when I was little. I know I’m a girl, but I grew up inspecting bugs, playing in the mud and riding on tractors. Just let me wear my pants and t-shirts.
  3. Work laundry always stays separate from nice laundry. Creek outfits are to be worn only in the creek.
  4. I dread the second that my Pappy pulls into the parking lot of a Tractor Supply store. I’ll talk to you in three hours.
  5. Oh, tell me you did not just walk through the house wearing your muddy boots…
  6. While not wise advice, farmers are always trying to get in a few more minutes of work before the storm comes. I think the farmer rule is to keep working in the storm until lightning hits a fence post next to you.
  7. You know it was a good day playing with Pappy if MawMaw hoses you down before you’re allowed in the house. Even better yet, you might get to take a bath in the kiddy pool in the yard.
  8. Five gallon buckets are worth more than gold around the farm, especially if they have a handle on them.
  9. A pocket knife is a necessity and can be used for ANYTHING. Screwdriver, prybar, splinter remover and even occasionally to cut something.
  10. Near Pappy’s house in northern Adams County, you wave at everyone you pass. You’re either related to them or they know your grandparents or someone in your family.

-“Mini Tad”

Visit the store for a harvest schedule, or check us out on Facebook for the most up-to-date harvest information. 

MVFarmMarket.com

Leave a comment